SARcasm











{June 7, 2013}   RIP Mr. Muller

I first want to say there’s not much I can say about Roland Muller that my friend Anne at the Belle Jar Blog didn’t say here. But as Rolland Muller passed away last night at the age of 70 years old, and I say goodbye to one of the greatest teachers I have ever had, I couldn’t resist putting a few words of my own out into the universe. He, after all, loved and encouraged writing.

First of all, I have to express that when I say Rolley was ‘one of the best teachers I’ve had’, I don’t say that lightly. I have been truly blessed through my life in the teachers whose classrooms I have sat in. Mme. M made me feel like less of an outcast at a school where I was bullied mercilessly … Mme. L was the first teacher to challenge me and not give me a free pass just because I was a smart little snot and I knew it … Mr. C and Ms. C inspired my interest in politics (and my bleeding heart) … Mr. H single-handedly prepared me for the university essay … and that’s just scratching the surface. In that sense, Mr. Muller is one of many in terms of teachers who’ve had an amazing influence on my life; but that doesn’t take away that he was also one of a kind. From his lifelong dedication to Eastwood – ‘our’ high school – first as a student, and then as a teacher, to his singular way of making every student feel special … so old-school and stern in some ways, yet so modern and with a wicked sense of humour … one of a kind.

And what amazes me is how universal my feelings are when it comes to Rolley. I think of what I want to say about him … he made me feel special, he encouraged my hopes and dreams, especially insofar as writing, theatre etc. were involved … he was approachable, dedicated, and ‘just got it’. And yet, as I see my former school’s Facebook pages today, and the Facebook pages of fellow former students, these feelings were shared, to a person, by everone whose life he touched. And can you imagine a teacher who makes every student they come in contact with – 200+ students a year, every year, for 35, 40 years? – feel that way? He is a big part of the reason I want to do what I do. If I can touch half the lives he has in my career as a teacher, I will consider that a job well done and a life well lived.

Rolland Muller … who just a month before his passing on was still expressing his pride in my gr. 9 Romeo and Juliet project fifteen years after the fact … who taught me Greek Legends and Shakespeare … who in later years painted the first home my husband and I purchased (despite thinking us crazy for wanting a bright, canary yellow bathroom) … He will be missed sorely in the Eastwood community, by his students and colleagues, and by all those who he inspired. “Goodnight, Sweet Prince, and flights of angels sing thee to thy rest.”

IMG_2388

Myself and Rolland Muller – Apr. 2013.

Leave a Reply

et cetera
