SARcasm











{January 5, 2013}   Happy New Year!

So it’s been awhile! My apologies for a busy Holiday Season – it’s been wonderful, though. After a successful Christmas Eve pageant at my church (in you know, my own humble opinion), we had a great Christmas with my family before heading to Kitchener-Waterloo to see my in-laws and our friends, as well as spend a bit more time with my dad and step-mom. A good time, I think, was had by all, despite some rocky weather on our way down, and now we’re home better off than last year – no illness, no car accidents, and a strong start to 2013. ๐Ÿ™‚

For the new year I have a few resolutions.

  • Good health. Notice here I’m not speaking of weight – because frankly that’s not what I mean. That’s a part of it for sure. But just generally, I spent too much of the last year ill. I don’t think I strung together two healthy months at any point. So, I want to eat right, sleep better, and get some more exercise generally. Develop some coping skills so I don’t get so easily stressed out or overwhelmed. Generally be better to myself so I can be better for those around me. I feel like if I take care of myself, get active, eat right, sleep properly, etc. the rest will take care of itself.
  • Settle the work situation. Grant you this is only in my own hands to a certain degree – but I can make a few more moves; seek out a few more principals, maybe choose to put teaching aside for awhile and pursue other avenues … I don’t know just what form this will take yet, but I don’t want to be in the ‘1-2 days a week supply teaching and waiting for that to turn into something maybe possibly’ holding pattern. Time to expect more for myself and of myself professionally.
  • Become more organized. I started this process last year – little things, like buying bins to sort the kids’ toys into instead of one big toy box, placing our calendar more prominently in our home so we’ see it daily, making lists at particularly busy times, etc. … I want to continue on this and improve on it, decluttering not just the main part of our house but our storage areas too, putting things on Kijiji that should have been up months ago, getting to some of the longterm ‘to do’ list we’ve had of things to do around here, no longer being late to (almost) everything we go to as a family … in short, behaving like the intelligent, capable adults I know we are. ๐Ÿ™‚ No more procrastinating.

There’s probably more stuff those who know me could tell me I should work on in the New Year …ย  but I feel like this is a good start – and totally realistic and doable. ๐Ÿ™‚ Here’s hoping everyone has a successful and happy New Year … whatever success and happiness mean to you! XOXO

Mom says:

All good choices Sarah!



Leave a Reply

et cetera
