SARcasm











{November 17, 2009}   A Warm Fuzzy for a Friend

I wanted to express my love and pride in my friend Alex today …

Over the last year at different times we’ve both had plenty of wonderful moments, and plenty of stressful moments; it comes with being parents, it comes with being married, it comes with working, it comes with not working … it comes, in short, with being an adult. Of late, as I’ve been particularly frustrated with not having enough hours in a day to keep a beautiful home AND find a great job AND be an awesome wife AND be the fabulous mom I want to be, she has had the attitude that I need; the ‘enough!’ attitude, the ‘look around and see what wonderful things you have and appreciate them’ attitude. We’ve both talked each other through some ups and downs since re-becoming friends a couple of years back, and I am so proud to see how much she’s grown even just in that time, and I can only hope to do the same! So … today as I’ve been frustrated with being sick, with how the chores never end, and with the lack of work, I’m going to take a page from Ms. Alex’s book and say …

  • I am thankful I have a wonderful 1-year-old son, to whom I am a good mom; of that list above, I know my house can be a pigsty sometimes, I know I’m still looking for work, and I know those things sometimes get taken out on the hubby, making me a less-than-ideal wife; but I KNOW I’m a good mom to Little Tyke. At the end of my days even if there aren’t many things I can add to my list of ‘I was wonderful at …’, ‘being mommy’ will be the one I will ensure DOES make the list.
  • I am thankful for Ari who is patient even when I am not (see above), and who even accepts my sometimes distracted, mind-wandery, less than productive days. I am the stay-at-homer right now, so a lot around here falls on me; but he does more than his share when he is home and gives me a break and I love him for that.
  • For that matter I’ll just say I’m lucky for all the family and friends I have; we all have our ups and downs but the people who are in my life now have been there when the chips have been down; through countless moves, through the stops-and-starts of an early teaching career, through parenthood; they appreciate my good qualities and forgive the less-than-good, and for that I am thankful and do the same in return. Especially those I have struggled with, that they have stuck around and taken the time to work through said struggles, and given me the opportunity to do the same – I appreciate that.
  • I am thankful for my education and my career; as frustrating as it is now, there is little more fulfilling from a professional standpoint than having a job in which you know you’ve done good at the end of the day; Ari is experiencing this now with his new job, and I experience it every time I am in a classroom. I love working with children and young adults, and I can only hope I impact them and teach them as much as they do me!
  • I am thankful for my lovely home and vow to show it more love and appreciation lol.

And so much more … I am lucky to have the material things I do; cars, TVs, computers … heck, even food, toiletries, etc. … aren’t to be taken for granted .. my pets … my very cool new hometown, and my ‘other home’ to which I love returning … all of these things last; those which frustrate me, don’t. And Alex? Thank you for teaching me that by example. 🙂 Love you!

Alex says:

Aw you made me cry lol. Thank you. For saying the things you did. We do sometimes need to verbally acknowledge all the positive things. I know we (we in general) see them but we don't always acknowledge them, especially to the people that should know that we see those positives :)Lots of hugs.xoxo



Leave a Reply

et cetera
